Machine Learning Engineer (Multilingual)

Raquel H.


Q: Who are you? Where are you from?

A: I’m Raquel. I was born and raised in Sao Paulo, Brazil and moved to the US for college. I met my husband there and after he graduated we moved to Ohio, which is where we’ve been for the past decade. We have 3 kids: Kaue (8), Maiara (7) and Eva (4). We also have an Aussie named Azzurri and two minilop bunnies (Rainbow & Marshmello).

Q: What’s your background? What did you do before Modulate?
A: My bachelor's degree is in Exercise Physiology and I had every intention of pursuing a graduate program to become a PT before starting a family, which didn’t happen. A few years after being a full-time mom I decided to go back to school and learn programming (due to a great deal of incentive from my brother). I took two years of undergraduate level classes, then applied for a Masters program in Machine Learning & Artificial Intelligence. During that program I did 2 summer internships with Wright State University. Then I got hired full-time by a government contractor in the Dayton area. We were involved in a lot of projects sponsored by the AFRL, which consisted of things such as satellites, aerial imagery, target tracking and
recognition, navigation, etc.

Q: Why are you joining Modulate?
A: I deeply identify with Modulate’s mission to improve online environments but I was initially drawn by the opportunity of using my ML knowledge coupled with my bilingual background. It’s a great opportunity to stay closely connected with my roots while feeling that I am contributing to making the world a better place.

Q: What’s your ideal work environment? Any special strategies you use to stay effective?
A: I like to have a good balance between collaboration and independent work. As an individual, I like to break down projects into small and explicit goals. Checking things off is a good motivator for me.

Q: Tell us about something you must have in any culture you join?
A: Transparency and clear objectives

Q: Who are you outside of work?
A: I am a mom to three young kids who keep me busy 99% of the time. The other 1% is spent doing photography and listening to true crime podcasts or audiobooks.

Q: What’s something you’re great at that few people realize?

A: I dabble in a lot of types of boards: skateboarding, snowboarding, surfskate and just recently had the chance to try surfing.

Q: Leave us with a fun tidbit - a favorite joke, a story from your past, an obscure riddle, whatever you like!
A: Know your limits: recently my son (8) asked if he could take some toys to school. I said he could, as long as he was responsible and took good care of them. He hesitated for a second and said: ‘Nope, can’t do it!’